Why do you wear makeup?

I am a makeup fan. All of my spare money goes towards buying cosmetics from a range of brands and I rarely go a day without spending a fair amount of time applying it. A common question I get asked by people is ‘Why do you wear makeup?’ and I know this is a common thing.

Commonly, makeup is assumed to be what girls wear in order to impress a guy. Not only is this highly hetero-normative and, therefore, outdated, but I know barely any people who follow this ‘rule’. This view is not where it ends, makeup is commonly considered to be a ‘lie’ and is looked down upon by some. I would like to address this today by sharing my makeup story.

My sister is six years older than me. From the age of around 6 or 7, I was exposed to her begging to buy makeup and using the stereotypical preteen Maybelline Dream Matte Mouse and flavoured lip gloss. I looked up to her, so obviously wanted to have the same things. My family allowed me to use play makeup, as many parents do, and I was ever so happy. This is the earliest I can remember having a love for makeup.

When I was younger, I was also an avid dancer. Every other year I would perform in a dance show in the summer and this occasionally called for a red lip or cheek of some description. There was no foundation or eye makeup just little pops of colour here and there. When I was 12, I begged my mum to buy me my first foundation so that I wouldn’t look washed out under the harsh lighting of the stage. Because this was for a practical reason, she complied and my makeup collection began to grow.

Over the following years, my collection has grown and grown, with products from brands of varying prices filling my dressing table. Each day, I pick out some of my favourite picks and apply. Some days I’ll wear just concealer, powder and mascara and be done in five minutes. Other days, I will go all out and spend a good hour, hour and a half producing a masterpiece on my face. But why do I do it?

The answer is simple, I enjoy the creativity makeup allows me to express. I’m a fairly confident person at the moment, but makeup allows me to boost this confidence further. No, I do not use it as a mask. My confidence comes from the pride in being able to wing my eyeliner flawlessly or picking the perfect shade of eyeshadow to match my outfit. Makeup is not necessarily a cover-up, the majority of people use it as a way of enhancing their natural beauty and expressing their inner creativity. Yes, I will cover a blemish on the majority of days but why is this a bad thing? I don’t see why it should be.

I also don’t understand why people get flack for not wearing makeup. It is after all your own choice what you wear and how you live so you do you.

This got slightly more ranty than I expected but I hope the point I was trying to make came across. I hope to be blogging a lot more frequently now my exams are finished but, for now, please share with me in the comments whether you do wear makeup and your reason for doing so or not doing so. I look forward to reading your stories.

Byee xx

3 thoughts on “Why do you wear makeup?

Leave a Reply

